When I Swing Past

Standard

As a blogger I like to read other blogs.  I subscribe to some and I go on blogging sites (such as wordpress.com) and read random ones.  I generally have a lot in common with the writers of the ones I subscribe to and enjoy their style of writing. Usually I discover them while doing haphazard reading on-line.

It’s interesting to see the many different styles of other people’s blogs.  Some write about serious and political subjects. Others write of travel, photography, cooking or light-heartedly about life.  I just love  (love in italics usually implies sarcasm, by the way) clicking on one, not knowing what to expect, and it’s just a picture. Nothing else.  Or just a poem.  No explanation.

I figure I’ll get in on that vagueness.  So here is a song that I have loved since I was a wise teenager of just sixteen. When I say “wise” know that, again, I’m being pretty sarcastic. The wise teenager, like Sasquatch, does not exist. (Or maybe just hasn’t been captured yet.) Now, as a truly wise twenty-nine year old, I get this song.  Ok, I’m totally lying. I’m not wise.  But I am seasoned. And the words of this song, that I once thought I understood, have so much more meaning now.

(Just so you know…I tried to be one of those unexplainers and just post the song.  I suck at following directions.)

Between A Laugh And A Tear (1985)

by John Cougar Mellencamp (before he lost the Cougar…which I believe gave him super powers as an artist…then he dropped it…and…well, I must say, he lost a little of the magic.)

As I was saying…..

Between A Laugh And A Tear (1985)

by John Cougar Mellencamp

When paradise is no longer fit for you to live in
And your adolescent dreams are gone
Through the days you feel a little used up
And you don’t know where your energy’s gone wrong
It’s just your soul feelin’ a little downhearted
Sometimes life is too ridiculous to live
You count your friends all on one finger
I know it sounds crazy, just the way that we live
Between a laugh and a tear
Smile in the mirror as you walk by
Between a laugh and a tear
And that’s as good as it can get for us
And there ain’t no reason to stop tryin’
When this cardboard town can no longer amuse you
You see through everything and nothin’ seems worthwhile
And hypocrite used to be such a big word to you
And it don’t seem to mean anything to you now
Just try to live each and every precious moment
Don’t be discouraged by the future, forget the past
That’s old advise but it’ll be good to you
I know there’s a balance, see it when I swing past
Between a laugh and a tear
Smile in the mirror as you walk by
Between a laugh and a tear
And that’s as good as it can get for us
And there ain’t no reason to stop tryin’
When paradise can no longer amuse you

Honestly, at 16, I don’t know what the hell I was thinking; thinking I understood this song. Far from it…but yea, I thought I knew it all….then I grew up.  As for knowing it all…I don’t.

Maybe I will someday…. when I turn thirty.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BmNj3ZwgBUI

 

Leave a Reply

