Squiggles & Sniglets

Standard

A while back I wrote a post on Facebook stating I had writers block and needed some inspiration.  Two of my followers…I mean friends…gave me clever suggestions.  Both, I believe, were trying to challenge my ability to have a story for everything.

Well, HA! I happen to have something to say about each of your submissions!

Don’t act all surprised. You knew I could do it.

“Squiggles”

Like the pal who suggested it, I too played this game as a child.  Basically it goes like this: One person draws a squiggle on a piece of paper and the other has to turn it into a picture.  It was one of my favorite games to play with my mom, usually at some restaurant on a napkin while we waited for what seemed like an eternity for our food.  Mom was really good at it.  Come to think of it, she was always the artist and I, the squiggler.

“Sniglets”

Raise your hand if you remember this little nugget from the 80s.

snig·let

/ˈ/  [snig-lit] noun Any word coined for something that has no specific name.

You have no idea how happy I was to find it on Dictionary.com. This means it’s officially a word right?

Not sure of sniglet’s origin, but what I remember most is spending hours with my sister and cousin thumbing through a book that listed all kinds of crazy words for things that “were” but there was no actual word for it.

For example:

*Pupkus (pup’ kus) – The moist residue left on a window after a dog presses its nose to it.

or

*Table Snorkeling (tay’ bul snawrk’ ling)- Frantic gesticulations when one bites into hot food and has to take in air to cool it off.

 

(Yes, I chose the second one to use as an example just because the definition used the word “gesticulations” in it.)

 

Does this make any sense at all to you? No? Well, please stop reading and go find something dull to do.  For the rest of you out there with quick minds let’s carry on.  Actually, here is a couple that I’ve come up with myself…

*Vansie- (van-zee)-Man who now drives minivan because his wife made him get rid of the cool car.

*Hulirious- (huh-leer-ee-uhs)-Becoming so hungry you are delirious. {Not to be confused with hilarious. Hilarious is a so called “real” word and not a singlet.  It’s actually found in the dictionary…next to my picture. }

So, yes, my friends, I do have a story for everything.

But let’s not stop there.  These stories continue from my childhood into my (so called) adulthood.  What do these two things…Squiggles and Sniglets…have in common?

A couple things actually.

First, my mom.  She’s the fine lady who introduced me to both of these silly concepts.  She’s the one who spent way more time than the average mother turning something as simple as a squiggly line drawn by a bored and hungry (but not hulirious) piggy-tailed little girl into a work of art.  She’s the one who I truly believe started the whole singlet craze. (Well, at least in our house.) It seems like she was always putting words together to label the unnamed.  It was like she was the stand-up comedian to her own little audience of three.

The second is this…both of these things, the squiggle and the singlet, are illustrations change.

The game of “Squiggles” takes a effortless line and morphs it into a new formation.  Although the new piece of art is what stands out, the original stroke of the pen is still there.  This is the backbone of the picture.  This is the foundation.  And just because it’s altered doesn’t mean it has gone away.  It will always be right there, holding it all together.

As for the singlet, well, sometimes the thing you have is not quite what you want it to be.  So, you have to make up something that fits what you are trying to have, to see, to become.  Why is it that there is no official word for the mark of moist residue left on a window after a dog presses its nose to it? Who said there shouldn’t be a name for that? Who’s dictating what is and what isn’t?

I say, be resourceful.  Just because it hasn’t been done doesn’t mean it can’t be done.

I say snigletit. **

**Snigletit- (snig-let-it)-To make your own way even if it hasn’t been done that way before.  Even if it’s not the norm.  Even if you’re the only one who actually cares what the meaning is.

One response »

Leave a Reply

